Millard Announces $547,000 in Safety Grants to Area School Districts
HARRISBURG – Rep. David Millard (R-Columbia) today announced $547,688 in grant funding to numerous school districts in the 109th Legislative District. The School Safety and Security Committee, established within the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency, distributes these funds to make Commonwealth school districts safer for students and teachers.

The 17-member committee was created as part of Act 44 of 2018, a comprehensive school safety law passed in 2018. One of its duties is to help distribute both meritorious and competitive grants.

“Our children and teachers deserve a safe environment in which they can instruct and learn to their full potential,” said Millard. “I’m very happy to see Pennsylvania prioritize school safety and security. These grants will go a long way in ensuring that our schools remain safe for all.”

The following schools in the 109th Legislative District received grants:

• Benton Area School District – $30,000.
• Berwick Area School District – $40,000.
• Bloomsburg Area School District – $35,000.
• Central Columbia School District – $35,000.
• Millville Area School District – $30,000.
• Southern Columbia Area School District – $377,688.

In total, the committee awarded over $53.7 million in grant funding to school districts and entities throughout the Commonwealth.

Representative David Millard
109th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Kevin DiGuiseppe
717.260.6419 (office), 610.937.4679 (cell) /